top of page
  • emmaburke2701

Concept-

Updated: Oct 21, 2019

Non-traditional bridal wear

I aim to achieve a bridal wear collection that is a spectrum of colour and Individuality, challenging tradition and advocating for longevity and versatility in the bridal industry. I chose this concept because even though there are still brides who like to stick to tradition with big ball-room dresses, modern and more alternative weddings are becoming increasingly more popular in the market today. Wedding dresses have had to start catching up with the developing and socially accepting society we live in.


The bridal industry is very self contained, I would love to explore the creation of a more diverse bridal industry that incorporates other areas of fashion. I believe my research will contribute to others work in the modernisation of the bridal industry, steering away from tradition and introducing old and new ideas into a very conventional industry.


UPDATED CONCEPT BOARD




COLOUR PALETTE


I chose to focus on colour in my bridal collection because I wanted to research the history of colour and why we associate certain meanings with certain colours, specifically why it is such a dominant image in the western world that the bride walks down the aisle in a white dress. I want my collection to help reduce the immediate connection of putting the words white and dress together when we think of a wedding, and allow the wearer to have a broad selection of clothing to present themselves in on their special day.


I aimed to introduce colour back into bridal wear, Colour may be insignificant in traditional bridal wear today, but In the 18th century colour was very dominant in wedding wear. the tradition of wearing white was only popularised in the mid 19th century by Queen Victoria. “Wedding dresses of the 1770s and 1780’s were all are made of silk and the most popular colours were cream, pink, blue and white.” It was actually favoured to wear lighter colour silk dresses, with pastel being a favourite amongst women. This is what informed my colour palette.



2 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page