top of page
  • emmaburke2701

Beading and Embroidery research

Updated: Oct 21, 2019

Books:

Thompson, Angela. Embroidery with Beads. Lacis, 1992.

Conlon, Jane. Fine Embellishment Techniques: Classic Details for Todays Clothing. Taunton Press, 2005.



I have researched into beading and digital embroidery as these are two techniques I want to incorporate into my collection- beading and embroidery are traditional techniques used in bridal from very early on, incorporating them into my modern non-traditional collection brings the old into the new. I was introduced to digital embroidery this year in semester 1


Beading methods:


Tambour beading- is an offshoot of tambour embroidery and an eminently practical method of producing beaded motifs, bands and overall designs. Tambour beading uses a tambour hook- the hook consists of two parts: the tambour needle and a separate holder. Tambour needles are shaped like tiny crochet hooks, but unlike crochet hooks they are designed to pierce fabric and have an extremely sharp point at the working end. I have purchased a tambour hook online that comes with three different needle sizes- the finest needle is the one I will be using (#70) which is used primarily for fine silk and sheer materials.


I tried tambour beading after purchasing a special tambour hook but I couldn't get my head around it and it wasn't working with my fabric, I decided this will have to be skill that I will continuing to learn after uni.



Back Stitch Beading:

Step 1: Pull your needle and thread up at the beginning of your line and thread on three beads.


Step 2: Put your needle down at the end of those three beads.


Step 3: Pull your needle up beside your line of beads between the first and second bead.


Step 4: Thread your needle through the second and third beads.


Step 5: Thread three more beads onto the thread and then put the needle down at the end of those three beads. Repeat until beads cover your desired length.

4 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page